Drumlane or Droim Leathain in gaelic means the broad ridge/hill and gives the parish its name. It is located in a peaceful setting of picturesque small drumlins and a chain of small lakes. Drumlane parish area stretches from Rinn Point on the south of the parish to the Bloody Pass/Quivvy on the north and from Bakers Bridge on the east to Cranaghan on the west side.
To find us via Sat Nav, our GPS Co-ordinates are N 54 04.1054 W 07 28.6678
Situated beside the village of Milltown are the Abbey/Monastery, Church and Round Tower of Drumlane, which dates back to the year 555. The founder of Drumlane is believed to be Saint Colmcille. The name of Saint Mogue is used in close association with Drumlane but there are many reasons for concluding that the foundation is older than his time. The exact date of its foundation cannot be fixed with certainty but the historical evidence leads to the conclusion it belongs to the early part of the sixth century.
The parish has numerous chains of small lakes and the River Erne and is well known for its fishing/angling and boating. See Map here http://binged.it/1Mjidnq
Milltown is a small village situated 4½ miles from Belturbet on the road to Killeshandra. The town of Ballyconnell is to the west and the village of Butlersbridge to the east. The parish has two Roman Catholic churches; St. Patrick’s Milltown and St. Mary’s Staghall and one Church Of Ireland church : St. Columba’s, located at Killynaher.
St. Patrick’s Church, Milltown (from Kilmore Diocesan website www.kilmore.ie)
Was built at the centre of the village during the years 1867/68 to replace a thatched barn type chapel which had stood on the same site for roughly one hundred years. The architect who designed it was Mr William Hague of Cavan and Dublin. The contractor whose building firm constructed it was Mr Hugh Kelly of Granard, Co. Longford. The parish priest of Drumlane at the time was Fr. Patrick O’Reilly and the curate was Fr. John O’Reilly. The walls of the new church were built from local limestone interspersed with level courses of sandstone. White brick was used for the dressing of the doorways and windows, with sandstone for the sills and arches. Bath stone was used extensively within the interior of the building. This was supplied by Silthorpes of Dublin.
The Dedication Ceremony for St. Patrick’s Church took place on Pentecost Sunday, 31st May 1868. On that occasion Solemn High Mass was celebrated by Bishop Nicholas Conaty. A special sermon was preached by the celebrated pulpit orator Fr. Thomas Burke, O.P. The ceremony concluded with Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament given by Bishop John Brady of Perth, Western Australia.
St. Mary’s, Staghall (from Kilmore Diocesan website www.kilmore.ie)
There was a post penal chapel on the opposite side of the road to the present church. Fr. Philip Donegan who replaced Fr. Patrick McCabe in 1843 set about the task of building a new church. He secured a site, soon after his arrival in the parish, from Lord Lanesborough. The site was located in the townland of Kilconny, and the plot he obtained there was sufficiently extensive to serve not only as a site for the church but also as a cemetery for the lower Drumlane area. Up to that time the cemetery around the ruined abbey at Drumlane was the only Catholic burial ground in the parish.
Fr. Donegan probably started work on the building of the church in the year 1844 or 1845. It was an arduous task, which took many years to complete, and it was made doubly arduous because it had to be carried out during one of the most harrowing periods in the history of the Irish people – the Great Famine, which lasted from 1845 to 1849. Even in 1853 the Church had not yet received its final touches.
The new building had the altar placed against the eastern gable, which greatly marred the affect of the interior arrangements of the church.
This defect was remedied relatively quickly. A beautiful chancel of exquisite proportions was built. A chancel arch, rich in moulding and springing lightly and gradually from an architrave of Bath stone, with capitals and corbels tastefully carved into figures of adoring angels, lent a beauty and charm to the interior of the building. The eastern window of the chancel is of stained glass rich in its colouring and varied in its subjects.
The dedication of the chancel took place on 21st August 1870, Bishop Conaty officiated. Staghall Church has served the worshipers since, without major alteration.
St. Columbas Church Of Ireland, Killynaher
The church at Killynaher was built in 1820 and replaced the medieval church at Drumlane.
The parish has two Catholic National Schools; Milltown and Greaghrahan. Church of Ireland National Schools; Fairgreen Belturbet, Ballyconnell Central and Killeshandra No.2.
Secondary schools: are served by St. Bricin’s Vocational School, Belturbet and secondary schools in Cavan town.
THINGS TO DO:
Ballyhugh Arts and Heritage Centre, Ballyhugh, Ballyconnell
Ballyhugh Arts and Cultural Centre is located between Milltown and Ballyconnell. The centre promotes Irish heritage through exhibitions, displays, heritage tours, ceilis and events. Telephone +353 (0)49 9526044 for more information.
Belturbet 9 Hole Golf Club telephone: 00353 (49) 9522287
Carratraw Canoe Centre, Carratraw Bridge, Butlersbridge
Carratraw Canoe Centre
Unveil the splendor of this National Heritage and Special Conservation area.
Meander along the majestic River Erne by canoe. From our ideally situated base at Carratraw Bridge, our guided canoe trails take you around the Lough Oughter waterways into the real Ireland of beautiful lakes and rivers, tranquil scenery, local history, wildlife and bird life. Our trails are suitable for beginner and experienced paddlers alike; travelling in our stable open style canoes is a memorable experience.
Learn to Kayak whilst having fun. Our Personal Proficiency Courses will introduce you to the fun and excitement of paddling your own Kayak. The courses are certified by the Irish Canoe Union and are run under the guidance of experienced, enthusiastic and fully qualified instructors. The courses are run on the edge of Lough Erne, with lovely clean water on a secluded river making it an ideal location to enjoy the thrill of learning a new skill.
Guided full/half day canoe trips around beautiful interweaving channels of Lough Oughter.
For bookings or enquiries phone: 0872905752 or visit: www.carratrawcanoecentre.com
Ciuin Spa and Wellness Centre, Slieve Russell Hotel, Ballyconnell
Experience the latest beauty and holistic therapies from all over the world.
t: +353 (0)49 95 26444 e: firstname.lastname@example.org
Killykeen Forest Park
Outdoor Experience Games Park
Contact: Janet Bennet, Brackley Lake, Ballyconnell.
Phone: 049 9523877
May 30th – June 2nd 2008.
Cavan County Fleadh, Milltown
View Larger Map