Milltown Group Water Scheme

Oct 12, 2018

Milltown Group Water Scheme was founded in September 1975 by local farmers.  An E.U. grant was made available to farmers who were provided with a water supply to their farmyard.  The committee decided at that time to extend the scheme to private dwellings who wished to avail of same.  Killeshandra Co-op assisted in the co-ordination of the scheme under the leadership of Mr. Brendan Dunleavy.

The first committee elected were:

Philip O’ Reilly  R.I.P.  Chairman

Patrick Brady   R.I.P.  Vice-chairman

Anthony Leddy  R.I.P.   Secretary

Liam O’Reilly  Asst. secretary

James Wilson Snr.    Joint Treasurer

Jim Monaghan R.I.P.  Joint Treasureer

James Gunn R.I.P., John P. O’Reilly R.I.P., Patrick Brady R.I.P. (Naheelis), Andrew Cassidy and James Cosgrove.

Benny Alwill R.I.P. Caretaker

The scheme ran very successfully over the years until 2005 when the new directive on drinking water became law and the scheme had to be upgraded.

Present committee:


Sean Brady              Vice Chairman      087 6594096


Liam O’Reilly             Secretary      4334342

James Wilson            Treasurer     087 9144400

Anthony Leddy         Asst. Treasurer      087 2807290

Seamus Mundy                                       087 6343672

Pauric Rudden                                        087 2618697

Gerry Foster       Committee

James Cosgrove                 087 2922457




October 2020
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!