Milltown has a long history of Foroige, back to 1977 when Ray Charles then Club leader of what was then called Macra Na Tuaithe. Ray later became chairman of the National Council in 1978. This club continued over the years with leaders being Fr. John Phair, Philomena Brady, Loreto Tivenan, Fr. Gerry Comiskey and Lily Morrow. The name of the organisation changed to Foroige in 1981 which comes from Forbairt na hoige which means development of youth.

Foróige lapsed for a year but with the arrival of an enthusiastic new curate Fr. John Cooney, Milltown Foroige Club restarted in 1986 with the help of Christopher Burns, Rosetta O’ Reilly, Rosaleen Gaffney and Mary Brady. The first committee elected consisted of Vanessa Ludlow, Lisa Ann Leddy, Mairead O’ Reilly and Kevin Mc Kiernan.

At the end of that successful year the first hostelling trip was organised to Wicklow, this was a very enjoyable and memorable occasion and as a result has continued over the years to be the highlight of the Foroige year with the club travelling the length and breath of the country and every year taking home great memories and friendships!!


The leaders involved presently with the club are Paula Teevan (Club leader) Rosaleen Fitzpatrick,  & Anita Maguire

Its been a busy few months in Foroige we kicked of our year preparing for a
celebration night for Mary & Paddy Lawlor in recognition for all their work
with Foroige. The night was held on 12th December and it was a huge success
we would like to thank them for all their dedication to the club and hope
that they will pop in from time to time! Following that we gathered 40 boxes
for the Christmas Shoe Box Appeal and decorated the local churches for the
festive session, thanks to Londis in Ballyconnell and Centra in Belturbet
for sponsoring the Christmas trees.

We have attended three interclub events first one at Halloween were Andrew
McCaffrey took home the title of best dressed, he dazzled everyone with his
vampire outfit on the night. We attended a disco in the Lakeside Manor in
Virginia, ?500 of the money raised on the night went towards helping sick
children to travel to Lourdes. Most recently we have been working very hard
for the X factor competition we had great help from Rob who came to the club
to teach us the “Haka” we would like to thank Rob for giving up so much of
his time to help us. The club put on a strong performance on the night but
unfortunately the judge’s scores did not go in our favour. A wonderful night
was had and ?500 of the proceeds on the night were presented to the Adam
Clerkin Cancer Care Fund.

We are currently preparing to do our annual clean up of the local area due
to take place on Friday 24th April, weather permitting. We are also entering
the Foroige Citizenship Awards this year and are hoping to tidy up Drumlane
Abbey. In May we will be taking part in a Sports Day in Stradone along with
all the Foroige Clubs in Cavan, here’s hoping we will be successful on the

We would like to thank everyone who has helped and supported us throughout
the year and we will keep you up to date as to the goings on in the months

12th December, 2008

Milltown Foroige Club members showed their appreciation for Paddy and Mary Lawlor as they retire after 20+ years of Leadership in Milltown Foroige. The club members put on a fantastic surprise concert of comedy sketches, dance, music and a short film about Milltown and surrounds. They also  presented Mary and Paddy with flowers, a Crystal Platter and a delicious cake.

• Annual Hostelling Trips.
• Parents concerts
• Car washes with good fun and not very clean cars!!
• Inter club events.
• Table Quizzes.
• Russian Dance.
• Achievements days.
• Christmas wreaths, logs, decorating churches and visiting senior citizens.
• Cinema trips
• Sponsored Bed push, walks, clean ups.
• Making friends and having fun.

• Ray Charles – National Chairman in 1978
• Eamonn O’Reilly Kilconny reference panel/national council member in 1988
• John Sheridan reference panel member in 1991
• Fr. John Cooney elected to National Council in 1991
• Patrick Sheridan elected to Members reference Panel in 1993
• Milltown club won the National Citizenship award for the Clean Up and tourist map project in 1990 and came third in 1992 for the “Our World, Our Challenge Programme.
• Mary Lawlor elected on to the National council in 1995 and became national vice chairperson in 1997.
• Paula Teevan elected on to the National Council in 2006.
• Painting the Mural in the community centre in 2007 and receiving a national citizenship award for the work

Drumlane Community Website, Cavan, Ireland